Destination briefing
Why travelers stop here
Bodeoksa Temple is a temple founded by Master Uisang in the 8th year of King Munmu of Silla (668) under the name 'Jideoksa Temple'. In 1161 (the 15th year of King Uijong), it was rebuilt by Unheo, and later National Preceptor Wongyeong reconstructed Geungnakbojeon, Yeombuldang, Gobeopdang, and Chimmunnu. In 1457 (the 3rd year of King Sejo), when King Danjong was demoted to Nosangun and exiled, the temple name was changed to 'Noreungsa Temple'. In 1705 (the 31st year of King Sukjong), Hanui and Cheonmil built Daegeumdang. Afterwards, as it was designated as the wonchal (guardian temple) of Jangneung (Historic Site), the tomb of King Danjong, the name was changed to Bodeoksa in the 2nd year of King Yeongjo (1726).
Existing buildings include Geungnakbojeon, along with the dilapidated Daehyeonjeon, Mogusil, Sansingak · Simgeomdang, Chilseonggak, Saseonggak, and Gaekbang. Among these, Geungnakbojeon is designated as a Cultural Heritage Material of Gangwon Special Self-Governing Province. The current Geungnakbojeon is a building with late Joseon Dynasty style. Inside this Geungnakbojeon is enshrined the Wooden Seated Amitabha Buddha Triad of Yeongwol Bodeoksa Temple, designated as a Tangible Cultural Heritage of Gangwon Special Self-Governing Province. The main Buddha Amitabha is flanked by Avalokitesvara and Mahasthamaprapta as attendant bodhisattvas, forming a triad. Through the construction document found in the belly of the statue, it was revealed that the statue was created in the 13th year of King Sukjong, the 26th year of Kangxi (1687), with monk Takmil as the chief sculptor.
OTA-ready stop
Built into inbound routes and day-tour planning.
Local context
강원특별자치도 영월군 영월읍 보덕사길 34
Travel fit
Attraction · Gangwon-do
![Yeongwol Jangneung Royal Tomb [UNESCO World Heritage] (영월 장릉(단종) [유네스코 세계유산])](https://tong.visitkorea.or.kr/cms/resource/15/4041415_image2_1.png)





